1969 Cougar XR7 T5 conversion

I’m new to this Forum and I need a little help. I would like to convert my 69 cougar convertible with a 3 speed manual to a 5 speed manual. I would also like to change the rear end to a 411 traction lock. I’m not a mechanic so I’m mainly looking for a place that will supply the needed equipment that I can order and than have my mechanic do the install. Is there a kit?

Thanks

Welcome!

I don’t know of a kit, but there are a lot of folks that have done the conversion. It looks like you probably have a 351 so there should be lots of possibilities. Since you need to get this installed, you might want to add your location to your profile so people will know who to recommend for your area.

I am sure that there will be some folks popping up here with more details. Is you car stock otherwise?

Here is a blurb from this thread. http://www.mercurycougar.net/forums/showthread.php?57771-3-speed-M-T-to-5-speed-M-T&highlight=conversion

There have been hundreds of articles on this conversion, both in print and on the Internet. The “trick” is to realize that, whether or not a Cougar owner wants to accept the fact, the Cougar is “just like a Mustang” (from the engine by to the rear seat footwells); and there are a lot more early Mustangs than Cougars out there being converted to a T5 (or TKO) manual transmission.

So, just go to Google and enter in “Mustang” and “T-5 conversion”. There are at least 10 pages -at 50 results per page- on the topic. Some are basic how-to articles like the previously mentioned Mustang Monthly article, some are vendors offering kits from basic to all-inclusive, with clutch activation parts, crossmembers, and transmissions.