20 Years in the making... My Cougar Story

After reading others stories I felt it might be important to share my own as it revolves around all the little curve balls life likes to throw at us.

In 1998, I graduated from high school. I had always been a fan of classic cars and used to go to car shows with my grandpa since I was a little kid. For my graduation gift to myself I found a 1968 Mercury Cougar 4spd with a 302 for sale about two hours or so from where I lived. Knowing my parents would probably kill me if i brought it home I got my Grandpa to drive down to take a look at it. We looked at it and it need some work (had a little damage to the rear from a light crash which was cosmetic). After a week pondering we made an agreement to meet up with the owner half way and do the deal. After bringing it home my grandpa went to the ropes for me. I knew how to drive stick but for the first several days I couldn’t get used to her.

I spent a lot of time cleaning her up and even took her to a few car shows (she definately wasn’t show car material but I was a young and dumb overly proud kid). In 1999 I found a painter who had been long retired. Not having much money my grandfather and I did as best we could on the body work and this guy sprayed it for me. It turned out ok, which considering what I paid is more then fair. I went on to show it again, got it some Crager SS wheels and tires and did the little things to it.