68 Cougar starter wiring problems.

I’m a novice with a 68 Cougar 302 auto.the car is a basket case, restoring.no dash installed, doing that now, Installed new ignition switch and switch harness. Car started but starter stayed engaged after start until you turn the key off. I then unpluging the pink resistor wire and switch would do nothing , starter will do nothing and switch is dead.If I start the engine with a remote maint. starter button all works fine starter does not stay engaged, Tried two different ignition switches and two different solenoid switches, same results. Wiring is not my bag. Thank You very much.

Hmm, this sam problem was just discussed in this post

However for your specific issue,

Car started but starter stayed engaged after start until you turn the key off. I then unpluging the pink resistor wire and switch would do nothing , starter will do nothing and switch is dead.

indicates that either your ignition switch is wired incorrectly or you have inadvertently removed another connection from the S post. The pink resistor wire connects to the ignition switch’s C post (Coil or ignition). In order to start the car, the ignition switch applies power to the switch’s S terminal (Start).

Let me know if you need any additional information

Coach Jack

Pink resistor wire should be inside the passenger compartment and has very little to do with the functioning of the starter itself and it not dis-engaging when the key goes from CRANK to RUN.

I will double check the wiring on the ignition switch and the pink wire is under the dash and if I unplug it from the switch nothing happens at all , starter will not do anything. I hooked up wire for wire on the switch and double check wires to coil etc… all looks as it should ? Thank you