Feedback on a rechromed bumper

Hey all,

I recently purchased a rechromed bumper. Upon opening it I found what appears to be pitting. It is a B*itch to try to get a photo that shows. On my IPad these two can be expanded to show the area the best.I have questions on if this is something to be concerned about if it is pitting.

The first pic is a popsicle stick in the middle of the area in question.

This is a close up, the blackish dots are my concern.

Happy for any thoughts on it. This is my first time dealing with chrome.

Thanks

I do not think there is a pitting potential problem. I cannot tell, is that the top or bottom of the bumper? The file you sent to my email was VERY large, I can actually see the spots in this pic.

Thanks Don! Appreciate your expertise. It is the top of the front driver side

Try 0000 steel wool?

Sure looks like they missed some pitting on my screen. If it just got re-chromed it needs to go back for rework.

I wouldn’t be satisfied with that. Chrome should be virtually flawless.

Yeah, if it was the bottom it might not be noticeable once installed, but I think I would want that fixed.

It will bug me, but my car is a driver…so a lot of imperfections…. The old bumper just had the chrome worn off where the hood/fender seams are. There was no rust or pitting.

If I decide to live with it, is there a greater risk of the pitting getting worse on an accelerated basis?

Unless you are going for a VERY high restoration and you step up for NOS. Then you get stamping marks, grinding marks and can only kind of see yourself in the reflection.

If you took a flawless bumper to a chrome shop and had them chrome your bumper I would send it back for a rechrome.

If you exchanged your bumper that had imperfections like rust, bent, twisted, etc for in-stock chromed one small imperfections in harder to see areas can be normal as they are typically exchanged from bumpers of this category.