Holley 4150 Rebuild (D0ZF-9510-AB / LIST 4514-1)

Holley 4150 Rebuild (D0ZF-9510-AB / List 4514-1) - by Mike_B.

I’m a novice. I’ve never rebuilt a carburetor before. This ambitious venture started when I discovered my carb was leaking fuel from a stripped fitting (at the time I didn’t even know what to call the place it was leaking from). After some research and reading I learned it was my secondary fuel bowl. I’ve since had it repaired, as the cost was comparable to a new replacement. With my car running poorly prior to this, it pointed at the carburetor as the culprit. Since it was already half disassembled it seemed practical to rebuild it. I wanted to learn the process and possibly save the cost of a professional rebuild / restoration, so I thought I would try my hand at rebuilding it myself. It is just a few screws and gaskets, how tough can it really be? Besides, I can always pay a pro to fix my mess, if need be.

First thing I did was figure out what rebuild kit I would need. Very few rebuild kits specifically list my Holley LIST 4514 number as a compatible carburetor. I ended up going with an NPD 4150 kit (PN: 9A586-12) because it only listed Ford 428/CJ/SCJ applications, and appeared to have the fewest “extra” parts that I would have to sort through. I didn’t want extra parts complicating things.

Next I went shopping for cleaners / solvents. Apparently the traditional method of cleaning is to disassemble all the parts and remove the old gaskets, and then soak the parts in solvent to soften any remaining gasket material, varnish and deposits. Spray with a carburetor cleaner while scrubbing to remove gaskets and gunk, rinse your parts, and then blow dry with compressed air. Easy!

My list of tools;

• Socket set
  • Wrench set and / or Crescent wrench
  • Screwdriver set
  • Safety Goggles
  • Rubber gloves (for working with fuel or solvents)
  • Solvent (I used Berryman’s, in a 1gal can with a parts basket)
  • Carburetor Cleaner spray (again, Berryman’s)