paint removal

hi im new to this so please bear with me as i learn how this works
i purchased a 69 cougar coupe was avertised as body work completed and picture car was primer., when i went to see it the guy painted with Tremclad rust paint and an electric paint gun, There’s are runs all over the car.
my question is does anyone have any tips on the best way to remove the paint?

There are several ways to remove the paint, it depends if you are going to do it yourself or have it done.
If you have it done then it depends on what facility you have close to you, dip-in strip, soda blast, sand blast,plasta blast, but if you do it yourself, then you have two choices, sand it off or chemical strip. Somebody may have another choice. Oh Welcome to the forum .

I just went through this process, at least the hand stripping portion, taking the car down to bare metal.
Not sure how far you want to go with this, but do you trust the body work done underneath?

If you do go down to bare metal, don’t bother with chemical strippers available on the market nowadays, they do next to nothing, and just cause a mess. I tried them all, KleanStrip, Rustoleum, and a few other brands. Spray on, brush on…you name it, it barely takes off a layer at a time if anything.

Use stripping discs for larger panels

For tighter spots and grooves use the smaller ones

Wire wheel, and free hand 80 grit sandpaper for everything else.

This looks like it would work well for mass paint removal:

https://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-contour-sctr-surface-conditioning-tool-plus-accessory-drums.html?utm_source=bing&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=ECI%20-%20Microsoft%20Shopping%20-%20Smart%20Shopping&utm_content=Ad%20group%20%231&utm_term=pla-4582833212161400&msclkid=006db0a09b8518088714d173cfcc6543

Dave,