Transmission Decision

This is my first classic car and I have no mechanical experience. I’ve owned for the past two years and love tinkering and learning. We’ve done cosmetic stuff like easy electric headlight openers, led dash lights, seats, export brace and the like but nothing major.

Recently I had a transmission place replace the U-joints and bushing as I was getting a clunk when I put it into gear. They also identified a “run-up” when going from 1st to 2nd gear (C4). I felt that but didn’t know what it was called. Anyway, the choice is have the C4 rebuilt, or, upgrade to a better transmission (something with more gears for hwy would be preferable).

This is my daily driver so I would like it to run well. The shop has estimated roughly $1500 for rebuild (1 yr warrantY) and $3000 for a four speed with overdrive (2 yr warranty). They said they can put in a replacement that will require some electronics and shortening of the drive shaft making it effectively a 4 speed transmission with automatic overdrive (effectively a 5 speed I think).

So my question is, what are most Cougar owners doing as a transmission upgrade (not for performance but for comfort and fuel economy) and are there any things to avoid? Also, are these costs relatively in-line for a shop that has a good reputation? The car’s not exhibiting any other issues so I’ll probably wait until other symptoms arise. It is my daily driver so I don’t want to wait too long.

Any and all advice, experience or criticism :slight_smile: is welcome!!!

Thanks!

AOD is a common OD AT upgrade and it requires no electronics (AODE which is the next generation does).

I like jamming gears so I would put in a T56… but that’s me. AOD is a good option.