What type of oil

Just wondering what weight of oil to use in my 68 cougar with 302. And also looking to see what repair manuel is best Chilton or haynes. Thanks

Oh my, here I am a newbie, and the controversial and many times emotional issue of what oil to use comes up. After many years on other TDBs and as a newbie, I will tread lightly. I have always used a CJ-4 rated oil, like Shell Rotella T 15W40 or the equivalent Motorcraft, which ever is cheaper. Sometimes I have used WalMart brand too, just as long as it was CJ-4 rated. I have used them since I worked for 30+ years for an oil company, and as an old car mechanic/restorer, and the value of a CJ-4 oil has been proven many times for old school engines with flat tappets in my experience. It contains a high amount of zinc and phosphorous, which is very beneficial for old school engines, and it is cheap too. However, if you have roller rockers, and a new school type engine, or want to race frequently, use a synthetic, IMO.

I prefer Chilton’s.

I use Shell Rotella T 15W40 in my 390. Seeing that you are new to here. Welcome to the Classic Cougar Community.
Steven

Thank you, I feel welcome already. You would not believe what a bad reaction I got to that recommendation at Scott’s 428CobraJet.org forum a few years ago.
Mike

I’m using Joe Gibbs oil now because of the high zinc it offers. Does Rotella offer the high zinc.

When I picked up my engine at Keith Craft I was told to use a high zinc oil like Joe Gibbs racing oil. He said that they have had numerous cam failures lately throughout the industry because of the epa continually robbing our oils of the good stuff.

So if I have a cam and new heads I should use a synthetic?