Beginners guide to increasing hp in 351 windsor

Hi everyone, I’ve just acquired a 1976 mercury cougar xr7 with what I believe is 351 windsor v8 under the hood.love the car. I’m not a mechanic but from what I understand these models have low horsepower. Would anyone out there be kind enough to give me some pointers on some things i could do to get a little more performance out of the car? I wouldn’t be doing any work myself but I’d be interested in getting engine parts/components to have installed by my mechanic. Any info for a greenhorn appreciated

Does the upper radiator hose go into the intake manifold or the engine block?

Most likely it is a 351M, which is a higher-deck block similar to a 351C. The Ford 400 uses the same block as 351M but crank and connecting rods are different, giving a longer stroke.

Post us some engine picture…

Sounds like a fun project. I might suggest a different answer to your question. Be sure your mechanic has some familiarity with the engine that you plan to have them supe up. Or at least they have good contacts that can steer you right.

You will get great advice here so don’t misunderstand my feedback. Great engine parts need a great install and tune as well. Depends a lot on your goals. Maybe just a different gear/LSD in the rear end will give you the extra pep you’re looking for?

Oh and yes, we love pictures.

For 1976 the 351W -2V was the base engine. A 351C - 4V was optional, followed by a 400C - 2V and a 460-4V. I do not believe a 351M was ever an option that model year.

Hey guys, thanks for the replies here’s a picture of the engine. I don’t believe it’s original but I’m told it’s a 351 windsor v8, heres a picture

Looks like a 351-W.