Changing the colour from factory

Hi
Just looking for some advice from my American friends.
I have been restoring my Cougar for a very long time now,the longest project I have ever taken.
I am in the UK and I believe my car to be the only one in this spec in the country and would think there are very few in the USA.
It is a 67 xr7 390gt with 4 speed manual,9 inch locker,tilt steering,tinted glass,am 8 track etc.
Unusually it was factory ordered with no power steering or air conditioning.
It is numbers matching engine,trans and axle.
I am an auto technician and have spent 14years(with a long break when my brother died)restoring the car to factory specs and keeping it as near to the original appearance except for possibly two things,the exterior colour and interior.
I believe the factory colours are on the more desirable for many,being glacier blue and dark blue interior.
The problem I am facing is it is now in the body shop and ready to paint.
Considering I completely rebuilt the car body and did all the metal work,gaps and got the car to a standard where no repairs are visible at all,I am facing approx 15,000 dollar prep and show finish.
I am being involved at every stage and the detailing the body shop guys are going to is exceptional.
The decision I now have to make,many of you may say is ‘it’s your car do what you want’.
I am now 63 and although I want to enjoy the car I have to think of future values when my retirement comes and I may have to sell.
A 67 Cougar has been on my wish list since I worked on one back when I was 24.
The colour combination I have chosen is the new BMW M5 competition Donington grey silver with an original 67 xr7 dark red interior.
I have to let the body shop know by Monday to go ahead,but in your opinion am I doing the right thing.I believe the above combination will look stunning,but once done it will be something I cannot afford to undo.