Front-end rebuild

I am planning to rebuild the front end on my '70 convertible soon. I am not a mechanic but have managed to muddle my way through things like a new intake, carb, distributor, steering wheel, shocks, export brace, remote mirror etc with the help of some googlng and youtube. However this task feels a bit more daunting so I am debating whether to just pay someone to do it. I have bought new Moog upper and lower control arms, tie rods, sleeves, strut rod bushings and sway bar links as well as a new power steering control valve, cylinder and all new hoses.

So, without a hoist or a ton of mechanical knowledge, is this something I should tackle on my own or no? Can anyone offer a basic step by step or order of removal/replacement and or tips? Do I have most of what I should need or should I also do coils/perches/isolators/strut rods/spindles/special tools or anything else?

Any help is much appreciated.

It’s not a hard task but you will need tools to remove ball joints and tie rod ends, and a way to compress the springs. Figure $300 for buying those tools.

Ok thanks.

Thoughts on re-using the springs/perches/strut rods/spindles?

Any tips/procedures you recommend?

I would re - use all those things unless something is wrong with them.

Just keep the factory shop manual nearby and have it aligned afterwards.

Appreciate the replies

Royce has much experience. I just did this but differently in that my components were in good shape and some new-ish. I just wanted to restore all the parts and replace the strut bushings. So I took it all apart on jack stands.

Sounds like you know your way around a torque wrench from your previous “muddling”. You are working on steering so you want to get it right. Inspect those spring perch’s well in the rubber area.

Take your time and get the shop manual, it is your friend. Also, be aware that there is supposed to be several safety cotter pins in several bolts. Put them back in.

Good luck!

BTW, nice Cat!