Ian Victim Repairable?

My beautiful '70 red convertible was buried in three feet of Gulf water which then quickly receded. The insurance company deeded it a total loss and made me two offers, one of they took it and another ($9K less) if I kept it. I am not a mechanic or restoration professional. Any thoughts on whether it is worth me keeping and finding someone to try to bring her back to life and glory, or should I just take the money and try and get another (which may take years if ever). I realize the car would have a salvage title.

1 Like

First off - so sorry to hear of the loss. I’m sure most people would tell your to find a way to restore it, but I look at it more objectively. I’ve restored and parted many Cougars, and you can’t save them all.

A few questions on your car - was it an XR7, does it have a lot of options, any previous rust? That would determine what it’s worth as a parts car. $9k seems high with the unknowns as to what’s salvageable. Things may look fine now but fail over time from the salt water exposure. $9k is a lot to pay for a parts car, and it’s value will be permanently diminished due to it being salvage. Even though many cars with clear titles have been through worse!

Though heartbreaking I’d do the math and probably let the insurance company take the car unless they really come off the value. Even then I wouldn’t try to restore it or another with the parts. That takes years and a lot of time and money.

Any way you can post photos? Might help people guide you towards what’s reasonable.

How much will they give you if they take the car? Did they give you what it’s worth? These cars do come up for sale and since you owned one you know what to look for.