Royce, Is this a real G?

Just saw this on eBay -

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mercury-Cougar-XR7-1968-mercury-cougar-xr-7-g-/321239979098?forcerrptr=true&hash=item4acb65145a&item=321239979098&pt=US_Cars_Trucks

I’m no expert on G’s but this has enough discrepancies that I’m thinking it’s an XR-7 with G badges. The front and rear valances are wrong (the fog lights are missing and the exhaust tips don’t come through), the console is missing, and the steering wheel is a '67 wheel.

I would ask for a Marti report to prove it on that one. What’s up with the vin tag on the driverside fender apron. Looks like they tried to tag it like a Shelby Mustang?

Are those curb moldings upside down? They don’t look right.

The part of the ad that says “built as a tribute to…” raises my eyebrow.

G tribute.

It even says that it was built as a tribute in the ad!

I know this was addressed to Royce, but really…

Looks like a pretty flagrant attempt to pass it off as a G. Straight up fraud in my book.

1968 Mercury Cougar XR7-G

This Beautifully restored 1968 Mercury Cougar XR7-G was built as a tribute to the great race legend and Mercury Cougar Race Team Captian Dan Gurney. Car is powered by a 302CI Ford V-8 with a 4 Barrel carburetor, backed by a Rare 3 Speed Manual Transmission. The car has been carefully gone through, and restored to better than new quality. Car has the correct 65B Body Code, XR7-G badges on passenger side headlamp cover, “C” Pillars, dashboard identification in gold, as well as non-functional fiberglass hood scope.

8F93F536342