Transmission questions??

I have the basic stock C4 Automatic transmission.
Since I am up on the Jack stands having completed redoing all my front suspension and steering work I thought I should consider the transmission.
I have never worked with it on one before.
I started by dropping the pan and emptying all the fluid. I have a new pan as my old one was dented.
Also bought a new filter to put in.

My question is what else should I be looking at it doing?

Why is the bellhousing so dirty from oil? And the top area of the trans box? Is this just normal for a 53 year old Cougar?

Also, forgot to mention I pulled both lines out and have new ones in but not hooked up yet as I am waiting on new brass connectors.

Much thanks!

I’d be worried if it was clean. :smiley:

Meaning the dirty bell housing?
Where does all the oil come from anyway?
I wanna clean it as I have cleaned everything else.
I am afraid to drop it down and not be able to get it back in! But that would be the only real way to clean it up.

you could take the opportunity to replace the rear seal, if you drop it then certainly replace the front seal.

If the top of the trans is oily then probably a leaking rocker cover gaskets and/ or intake manifold .

Dropping the transmission pan will tell you if it needs a rebuild. If the pan is full of mud, it’s actually the band and clutch material. If the fluid is just burnt and there is relatively little mud then a fluid and filter change is all you need.

Cleaning the outside won’t make it work any better but it will look nice.

If I drop the pan, I always install a drain plug if it doesn’t have one. Much cleaner if the pan has to come off again.

Change the modulator. Give the adjusting screw one turn clockwise for a crisper 2-3 shift.

Thanks for you reply.
I did change covers and gaskets
So hopefully less moving forward!

Royce, thanks always for your insight.